Sharing Notes & Attachments with Brands
Capturing important information for historical tracking can be essential to your workflow. Adding Notes and Photos to your Jobs is a regular task across companies of all sizes. When Jobs are created from an Enterprise Brand, you may need to share content with the Brand such as 'before and after' photos or a few sentences explaining what happened during a visit with the customer.
Public vs Private
Independent companies using Dispatch have the right to privacy. There are dozens of scenarios where sharing of content with outside Enterprises/Brands is necessary and just as many (if not more) where sharing should not occur. The decision is typically in your hands as a user of Dispatch - each Note and Photo can be independently shared with a Brand so long as the option is shown in the interface of our applications.
You may wonder...why is there a Share option?
Many Enterprise Brands enable their network of service providers to give updates related to Job statuses which are captured in the Brand's database. Along with those statuses a Brand may also want to capture Notes and Photos to get better insight in to the service experience.
By default adding a Note or Photo is private by default in most cases. This means that adding a Note or Photo to a Job is only visible to the User/Organization inside of Dispatch, it's not shared with the Enterprise Brand who created the Job. To share the Note or Photo, a User would need to choose to share the content with the Brand.
Sharing from Mobile
Sharing content works slightly differently based on the application. Below will show you how content can be shared when applicable to a Brand. Once the content has been shared, it can not be changed to private.
Share a Note
Users have the option to share a note immediately upon creation of a note.
Share a Photo
Users must upload a photo and then choose to share after the photo has successfully been uploaded.
Sharing from Web
Below will show you how content can be shared when applicable to a Brand. Once the content has been shared, it can not be changed to private.
Share a Note
Users have the option to share a note immediately upon creation of a note. When adding the note simple check the box next to the Brand name to share after saving.
Users may also decide to share a note at a later time by choosing the Edit option.
We've provided answers to some popular concerns that you may find helpful.
- Why would I want to share Notes or Photos?
An Enterprise Brand may require proof of service on equipment for authorization or perhaps written insight of what happened for a particular job. Sharing content reduces the steps from using other applications or portals.
- How do I change content so it's not shared after being shared?
It's not possible to remove a Note or Photo from having been shared. Our system immediately sends the content to the Brand and cannot un undone.
- I don't see the "Share" options, why not?
Not all Enterprise Brands elect to allow for choosing which content can be shared. Alternatively, some companies choose to make all content shared by default. If you're unsure why you're not seeing the Share option, reach out to us and we'll be able to provide the proper answer.
- Can I disable the Share option from my team?
There is an option to disable sharing in some situations. If you only want Dispatchers to have the option to share content, we may be able to help - reach out to us!