Completing an Appointment

Marking your Appointments as Complete is an essential part of the Dispatch workflow on a number of fronts:

  • Your customers will automatically receive a request to review your performance, which provides you with insight into improving the customer experience more broadly and with high ratings that can be utilized in web search results and other marketing efforts.
  • From an organizational perspective, you will ensure that everyone in your organization have real-time knowledge about when work is done, a step that allows for better scheduling, planning, and business intelligence.
  • If you work with third-party job providers, hitting Complete will ensure that Dispatch updates their service management system or portal, saving you time entering that information manually and providing an avenue to improving your contractor score.

Additionally, Completing your jobs is a very simple process that can be done both in the field on the mobile app or back at the office via the web application.

Article Sections

  1. Mobile App
  2. Web Application

Mobile App

Technicians in the field often are the best individuals to determine if a Job has been completed. If you have not already done so, you should open the Appointment to be completed from the day's list to see the Job Details. Once there, you can tap the Appointment Complete button. 

This will launch the Complete Reasons dialog, which determines if the Job is done or if more work is required.

NOTE: Some third-party job providers have custom Complete Reasons that mirror their needs and systems, such as Ready For BillingWaiting For Parts, Requires Follow-Up Appointment, No Show, and others. Usually, there is one option that Completes the job, whereas the rest move it into a Paused status.


Web Application

While it is more common that a Technician marks a Job as Complete in the field, you have two different ways to launch the  Complete process in the web application:

  1. On either the Jobs page or the Schedule page's Job panel, you can hit the Complete button on the righthand side of each listing.

  2. Clicking on the Job listing to get to the Job Details will also allow you to use this Complete button.

After hitting one of the above buttons, you will see a dialog asking about the status of the Job. By default on a retail job you created, you will have two options: Complete it, or Pause it.

After choosing one of the above options, you can then click Complete Job, or Take Me Back to exit without completing or pausing the job.

NOTE: Some third-party job providers have custom  Complete Reasons that mirror their needs and systems, such as  Ready For BillingWaiting For Parts, Requires Follow-Up Appointment,  No Show, and others. Usually, there is one option that Completes the job, whereas the rest move it into a Paused status.

Still need help? Contact Contact