Call Masking

Maintaining privacy between your Customers and Technicians is a valuable component to your business, keeping communication as streamlined as possible. Call Masking helps keep Technicians from immediately having access to a Customer's phone number, and a Customer having access to a Technician's phone number.

Article Sections

  1. Technicians - Call Masking Disabled
  2. Technicians - Call Masking Enabled
  3. Customers - Call Masking Disabled
  4. Customers - Call Masking Enabled

Within the mobile app we provide an immediate ability for Technicians (and Dispatchers) to call a customer with a tap of a button. Doing so eliminates the need to copy a phone number, flip between screens, or even storing numbers locally on a device.

Enabling Call Masking affects all users within the mobile app, whether you're a Technician or Dispatcher contacting a customer.


Technicians

Call Masking Not Enabled

By default, Technicians can view a customer's phone number and email address - these are the details stored on the customer within your Dispatch account. You can modify these details at any time you wish from the web application. When viewing the details of a given job, you're able to view the full phone number, use the  Call and SMS options natively from the mobile app. The mobile app will show customer information like the following:

  • Pressing Call will prompt the user to call using their phone calling application on their device
  • The Caller ID displayed to the end-customer will be of the device making the call
  • Pressing SMS will use the mobile device's text messaging functionality, displaying to the customer the phone number that is attached to the device

Technicians

Call Masking Enabled

Once you've gone through our process for enabling Call Masking, the view for Technicians will change slightly inside of the mobile app. 

  • Only the last 4-digits of the phone numbers will be shown to the Technician
  • Pressing Call will prompt the user to call using their phone calling application on their device
  • The Caller ID displayed to the end-customer will be of the number verified through our process, likely your company phone number rather than the Technician's personal number
  • SMS option will be disabled
  • Below the customer information is mentions that Call Masking is enabled, as confirmation

Customers

Call Masking Not Enabled

The customer view during the  On My Way/Enroute status enables the customer to view the arrival time of your Technician but also provides contact information for the Technician who's assigned to the appointment. There are two views for a customer, one for a mobile device and one for a computer.

Computer View

  • Technician's phone number is displayed to the customer without the SMS option displayed as the device the customer is using does not natively offer texting
  • Technician's name assigned to the appointment is displayed to the customer

Mobile View

  • Customer can tap on Call from their mobile device to reach the Technician
  • Customer will see the Technician's phone number
  • Technician's name assigned to the appointment is displayed to the customer
  • Customer can Text your Technician
  • Technician will see the incoming phone number, displaying the customer's name/number in the caller ID

Customers

Call Masking Enabled

When Call Masking is enabled, the customer view during  On My Way/Enroute status does not enable the customer to view the Technician's contact information, instead showing the verified phone number, normally your office phone number. This change helps keep your customers from interrupting Technicians and always being sure your customers contact your office about details around their appointments. And similar to the view when Call Masking is not enabled, there are two views for a customer, one for a mobile device and one for a computer, when Call Masking is enabled.

Computer View

  • Company phone number is displayed to the customer
  • Technician's name assigned to the appointment is displayed to the customer

Mobile View

  • Company phone number is displayed to the customer
  • SMS option is not displayed to the customer unless the verified number can receive SMS messages
  • Technician's name assigned to the appointment is displayed to the customer

Still need help? Contact Contact